An A-school Deployment Curse

letters-mail-stamps-istock_463x308Well, welcome to a very late mail call this week. The week and two days since the last update has to a certain degree been very eventful. First the deployment curse hit, and then Popeye pretty noticeably disappeared into his A-school studies. This afternoon was the first time in a few days that he and I actually got to have a decent conversation. It started with

“Hey my love! So sorry I’ve been AWOL. I Had a mod test today and a different one yesterday. I think I vindicated my self on this one. Feeling very well!”

After a few giggles and perhaps a few bad puns about how our relationship was not the equivalent of a military institution, I recounted all the ways in which the curse had taken it’s toll.

The deployment curse. 

For those that don’t know about the curse, it is one of those things that seems to happen to EVERY military family at some point after the military sends their loved one away. Inexplicably something breaks down, blows up, catches on fire or 100% needs to be replaced.

Now, mind you my family has been through a curse or two, but this just blew me away. It’s the first one to ever happen in A-school!

I can’t help but sit here and think that perhaps if Popeye wasn’t [censored] miles away, he would have had the presence to explain to the mechanic that the coolant was somehow leaking from the car and needed to be fixed- not just topped off at every visit. And perhaps that would have kept at bay the gusher of “green water” that flowed freely from underneath the hood 2 days before Thanksgiving when temps dipped slightly below freezing.

Or perhaps Popeye would have noticed, without my magical winter-land fascination, that snow was falling after a 60 degree Thanksgiving day. He may have suggested an early rise, cautioning that the roads may have glazed over. Or better yet, he may have offered to take me to work, in the SUV with snow tires, when he noticed that the salt and sand plows had not made their morning rounds. And I know he defiantly would have come to the rescue and wiped away tears of frustrations after I lost control of my car on the hill that day.

And perhaps he would have noticed the air slowly leaking out of the drivers side tire before I got stranded on the side of the road in the exact same spot where I crashed the day before.

Or, it would have been Popeye that accompanied me to a birthday dinner at work instead of my father. And that birthday dinner would not have been interrupted by my mother’s frantic call that the next apartment building over (which we manage) was on fire! and she was wondering if she should call the fire department or wait until we got home.

But alas, even when they are gone life happens!

That’s about it for now. TTFN- until next time.

Thoughts?

