Sailor Spotlight with IT Comms’ Man

Picture provided by IT Comms' Man

Picture provided by IT Comms’ Man

Hello Sailor! For the record, could you please tell us your name and your rate and when you joined the military? 

SN IT Comms’ Man

I Joined the military May 2012 and I’m an IT E3 seaman.

When you were growing up did you ever fathom that you would be in the military? 

SN IT Comms’ Man

Yes, well both my dad and grandfather both served in the navy. I was back and forth in college and the Navy was always at the back of my mind. I wanted to get my degree and then join. But, after a while the Navy took a higher priority.

What prompted you to look at the armed services as a possible career?

SN IT Comms’ Man

Kinda hard to say a lot was the legacy factor. All my positive male figures joined. I liked that idea. Also a couple friends joined and it sounded like a good gig. So, it was a combination of dad grandfather and a few friends.

Was picking a branch easy? How did you go about choosing the Navy?

SN IT Comms’ Man

Of course it was easy. The family was in the navy. It had the most to offer and and was dedicated to helping me both in the navy and in the outside.

Is your experience anything like what the recruiter described?

SN IT Comms’ Man

In all honesty I did not utilize the rectruter further than getting me in. He said, “Its gonna suck in the begining but once you get some rank you will get some fun.” He was right. I am finding that I can do literally just about anything that I want to do.

Was it easy to tell your friends and family that you were thinking of joining? How did they react?

SN IT Comms’ Man

Um… It was easy for me to do it.

Dad was pretty happy. He was shocked at first because he didn’t expect me to do it. Mom was happy but she was a little worried. Yet, they understood. It’s a good gig in today’s tough economy.

After signing up did you leave for bootcamp right away?

SN IT Comms’ Man

6 months from the day I signed the contract. It was 6 months before I left.

Did you have to do anything special to get prepared for boot camp? Can you tell me a little bit about your experience being in the DEP pool?

SN IT Comms’ Man

Nothing too special. I guess I started running a bit more. I wasn’t terribly out of shape before I went in. Mentally I was also ready.

DEP was nice. They brought in guys who just got out of boot camp to give you the run down of how it works. The guys gave you the accurate description of what navy life was like. It helped.

Tell me a little bit about your basic training experience. How did you get through it? What was your favorite part about bootcamp? What was your least favorite part about bootcamp?

SN IT Comms’ Man

Boot camp- I personally thought the first three weeks were terrible; especially while adjusting to getting yelled at. But, by the time 3 weeks past I got the hang of it and it was fun. Heh… I said that. Yeah, it was fun.

My favorite part was learning about navy heritage and history- you know with my dad and grandfather being in and all. That whole legacy aspect.

The thing I liked least was the repetitiveness and the monotony. Folding the cloths the same way. Wake up at the same time. Have someone always looking over your shoulder yelling- that by the way, was by far the worst.

Please describe your rank, job title, and primary duties with the Navy: (If OPSEC Allows)

SN IT Comms’ Man

IT E3 and as far as my job goes….well… Day to day from what I understand and of course I am still learning, it  is going to be a lot of network management and lots of working with radio. We kinda do a lot of message traffic and sadalite stuff. It’s… it’s such a broad thing. I get to network, management email, manage radio communication and message traffic.

** Do you like it? 

SN IT Comms’ Man

I do now. I learned to like it. It took me some getting used to but I honestly can say I thoughally enjoy my job.

What are your goals while in the Navy?

SN IT Comms’ Man

I definitely want to get as many warfare qualifications as I can. I also want to get a full college education. You know a BA. I want to make 1st class by the end of 1st enlistment and maybe work with special forces.

Have you been deployed yet? Do you know if you will deploy? Typically how long would a deployment for you last? 

SN IT Comms’ Man

I got a shore command so I am not going to be deployed. Our deployments go from 6-10 months. But then, I am not the one to ask because I am not going on a ship.

What are you most proud of in your service so far?

SN IT Comms’ Man

My biggest achievement would probably be graduating from school. Specifically “C” school. It was lots of homework and late nights.

How has your career in the Navy affected your life?

SN IT Comms’ Man

It probably has made me more responcible. I know it has given me a better understanding of respect and attention to detail. And of course it has given me an appreciation for all those things I took for granted.

Has your relationships with family, friends, spouse/ girlfriend changed?  If so how?

SN IT Comms’ Man

Well… my family has probably gotten a lot stronger. We take our time when we are together. We take that more seriously.

As far as friends. Some friends I let go. I didn’t need them in my life. But my true best friends… I have a more serious relationship with them as well. And you know what? I enjoy it more.

How do you think your life would be different if you never enlisted?

SN IT Comms’ Man

Life would have been different in the mannor of … I don’t know. I wouldn’t be able to see the world. It’s hard to think about. I don’t think I would be as happy as I am now.

What would you tell someone looking to join the military? Would you tell them to join the Navy?

SN IT Comms’ Man

I would tell them to read up on their branches. Ask currently enlisted and former enlisted people about it. Don’t just listen to the recruiter. And defiantly join the Navy because it is by far the best branch.

Any last thoughts that you would like to share?

SN IT Comms’ Man

I’m anxous to get out and start seeing things and doing my job. Every day I cannot wait until I report to my next command.

Related articles

Editor’s note: Sailor Spotlight is a recurring feature on the Buoyed Up in which we profile a different Sailor every month. If you have a loved one currently serving or who has served in the past that would like to be showcased, please contact Ollie by email at oliviagreyblogs@yahoo.com

2 thoughts on “Sailor Spotlight with IT Comms’ Man

  1. Pingback: Interviews | More from Olivia Grey

  2. Pingback: Interviews | Olivia Grey Blogs

Thoughts?

