An Interview with STG Rhino

Photo Credit: STG Rhino

Photo Credit: STG Rhino

Hello Sailor! For the record, could you please tell us your name and your rate and when you joined the military?

STG Rhino:
Rhino, its what my friends call me. I’m an STG. E3

When you were growing up did you ever fathom that you would be in the military?

STG Rhino:
When I was growing up it was cool to be in the military and I always looked up to those that served especially since I had family that had served.

What prompted you to look at the armed services as a possible career?

STG Rhino:
I wanted something new and fun. I wanted to serve my country, I know cliche. But it is true.

Was picking a branch easy? How did you go about choosing the Navy?

STG Rhino:
Picking a branch for me was very easy because the majority of my family in the past hadd been navy and that definitely was a weighing factor in my decision.

Is your experience anything like what the recruiter described?

STG Rhino:
Actually my recruiter was very honest to me and worked hard to make sure I was prepared as i could be for my future.

Was it easy to tell your friends and family that you were thinking of joining? How did they react?

STG Rhino:
I was nervous at first of telling my family that I was joining but they supported me full heartedly.

After signing up did you leave for boot camp right away?

STG Rhino:
I did not leave for boot camp right away. I was in the delayed entry program for almost a year.

Did you have to do anything special to get prepared for boot camp?

STG Rhino:
I joined a fitness center and got a trainer to help me shed a few extra pounds and develop my cardio.

Can you tell me a little bit about your experience being in the DEP pool?

STG Rhino:
The DEP pool was interesting since I was with such a diverse pool of individuals and we all were going to do separate jobs in the navy. beyond that DEP was simple with small responsibilities and plenty of time to learn the things they wanted us to learn.

Tell me a little bit about your basic training experience. How did you get through it? What was your favorite part about boot camp?

STG Rhino:
Well Boot was fun in my opinion. Dont get me wrong there are times that are trying but in the end worth every minute of the experience. For me writing to family helped me get through it and staying focused on the bigger picture of why i am here rather than why things are difficult at this moment.
My favorite part of boot was definitely leaving, just kidding, honestly it was receiving the uniforms and wearing them for the first time. It means something to me to represent my country and now I do every day!
Least favorite part of boot camp happened when I screwed up. Only happened once, I am sure you an figure out what happened.

Please describe your rank, job title, and primary duties with the Navy: (If OPSEC Allows)

STG Rhino:
Rank: E3 I am junior enlisted. STG means Sonar Technician Geographic. It means my job is to protect the fleet by watching what goes on around us in the water. Thats about all I can say on that. Currently my primary duties are PT and study to pass my final courses in operations school.

** Do you like it?

STG Rhino:
Do I like the Navy? Yes, I love it.

What are your goals while in the Navy?

STG Rhino:
Goals: to succede in whatever endeavour I take, reach advancement at every opportunity and always strive to excel and do my best every day.

Have you been deployed yet? Do you know if you will deploy? Typically how long would a deployment for you last?

STG Rhino:
I have not been deployed yet but I will by the end of the year. From current information we will be deploying less often but for longer stints instead of 6-7 months they will be close to 8-10 months.

What are you most proud of in your service so far?

STG Rhino:
I am most proud of not quitting and always trying and performing as is asked of me.

How has your career in the Navy affected your life?

STG Rhino:
Being in the navy has changed my life in a way that is difficult to describe. nothing but positively is the best answer I can provide!

Has your relationships with family, friends, significant other changed? If so how?

STG Rhino:
Well Family and friends havnt changed much other than the fact that I do not see them nearly as often but it just makes the time we get that much more special.

How do you think your life would be different if you never enlisted?

STG Rhino:
Yes my life would not be as fun or as interesting if I had not joined, probably the best decision I have ever made!

What would you tell someone looking to join the military? Would you tell them to join the Navy?

STG Rhino:
I would teel them to weigh their options joining isnt for everyone. I wish it was but it isnt. If they are looking to go see the world, or atleast the ports we stop in, and can handle doing their job everyday and dont mind losing a little sleep every now and then, then yes join! I would want them to join the branch that is best suited for them.

Related articles

Editor’s note: Sailor Spotlight is a recurring feature on the Buoyed Up in which we profile a different Sailor every month. If you have a loved one currently serving or who has served in the past that would like to be showcased, please contact Ollie by email at oliviagreyblogs@yahoo.com

2 thoughts on “An Interview with STG Rhino

  1. Pingback: Interviews | More from Olivia Grey

  2. Pingback: Interviews | Olivia Grey Blogs

Thoughts?

